Cervelo Masters (Round 3)

Venue: Eastern Creek, Sydney

REPORT by Cycling NSW (https://cycling.org.au/nsw/dhuez-delight-cervelo-masters-series)

It was all smiles for Dhuez Racing last weekend as their men completed a flawless Cervelo Masters Super Series. In the final round, victory by Jordan Ross (Illawarra CC) gave the tricolour team three wins from three races and handed Ross the Division 1 overall title.

Dhuez came into Round 3 with the top-three overall: Johnathan Millington (Hunter District CC) in the leader’s yellow jersey, Ross in second place and last year’s Masters Roadman of the Year Ben Neppl (Hunter District CC) in third.

The combined-division handicap format around Sydney Motorsport Park was liable to throw up surprise results, especially with evergreen engine Peter Milostic (Penrith CC) starting from chopping block.

However, Dhuez rode diligently to protect their overall lead. After Milostic powered ahead and mowed down everyone in his path, the Dhuez-led scratch bunch whittled away at the gap, bringing the race together after 70 minutes of racing. After the catch, the strong riders were determined to keep the group strung out in single file over the final 15 minutes of racing.

In the final kilometre, St George’s Luke Cridland launched clear on the racetrack’s sweeping downhill, an opportunist attack à la Fabian Cancellara of old.  The fluoro-green Dhuez train mowed down Cridland with 80 metres to go, allowing Ross to take his third bunch sprint of the series—this time for the win.

Division 2 riders Kevin Berkeley (Parramatta CC) and Ben Exley (Central Coast CC) kicked strongly to claim 2nd and 3rd place in the sprint and the top two places in Division 2 overall.

Campbell Fuller (Randwick Botany CC) sewed up the Division 3 overall win, but it was a much tighter contest in the lower grades. Blake Callen (Central Coast CC) won his handicap outright to snatch the Division 4 title by one point, while Division 5 finished with a tie on points between Harry Rourke (Waratah Masters CC) and Guy Page (Central Coast CC).

In the NSW Masters Men Premiership, Millington and Ross now head into Round 4 on 82 points each ahead of Neppl on 50 points. The Premiership will be decided in rounds 4 and 5, which are the individual time trial and Gunning road race on September 7 and 8 respectively.

#tricolours #StrongerAsOne



1st – Jordan Ross

4th – Mick Curran




1st – Jordan Ross
2nd – Johnathan Millington
4th – Mick Curran
5th – Ben Neppl

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s